Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Honors Council


 Darla Ausel

Darla Ausel
Learning & Technology (2011 – 2012)
Darla is the Manager and Instructional Technology Specialist of the Learning and Technology Center. Ms. Ausel provides Honors instruction with superior consultation and leadership in integrating technology into our curriculum.

Bill Bailey

William Bailey
Office of Admissions (appointed by President) (2011 – 2012)
Dean Bailey has been an Honors Council member since 2001. His insights and perspectives have contributed to recruitment methods. We are grateful for his energetic and dedicated service.

Jon Beal

Jon Beal, Ph.D.
Science & Technology (2009 – 2012)
Dr. Beal is a professor and chair of the Mathematics Department. He has been a member of the program admissions committee and is a strong advocate for honors education.

 Ellen Foster

Ellen Foster Ph.D.
Honors Co-Director - Venango Campus (2011 – 2012)
Ellen is the co-director of the Honors Program on the Venango Campus. She serves as the instructor for the Modes of Discourse class and will offer Hon 130: Banned and Challenged Literature and Film in the United States.


 Robert Frakes

Robert Frakes, Ph.D.
Social Sciences (2009 – 2012)
Bob is chair of the History department and chairs the Honors Council committee for the 25th anniversary. He is a long standing member of the honors council and a member of the honors faculty. He is a voracious supporter of the honors program's mission.


Lynn Hepfl

Lynn Hepfl
Honors Program Manager (2011 – 2012)
Lynn is the "heart" of the Honors community. Her ideas, enthusiasm, and caring make for a wonderful Honors environment.  Lynn's involvement with the International Programs promotes diversity and adds unique qualities to the Honors community. Lynn is a vital component of the Honors Program and is greatly appreciated.

Debbie Huffman
Foundation (2011 – 2012)

 Michelle Kealey

Michelle Kealey 
Student Affairs (appointed by President) (2011 – 2012)
Michelle is the Director of Residence Life Services.  Her expertise in student affairs will offer valuable guidance in Honors planning a living learning environment.


Patricia Kolencik
Education and H.S. (2011 – 2014)

Terry Latour

Terry Latour, Ph.D.
Carlson Library (appointed by President) (2011 – 2012)
Dr. Latour is the Dean of Libraries at Clarion University.  He came to Clarion from Delta State University in Cleveland, Mississippi, where he was director of library services since 1995. We are pleased to have Dr. Latour as an invaluable Honors Council member.

Ralph Leary

Ralph Leary, Ph.D.
College of Arts & Sciences - English (2011 – 2014)
Dr. Leary is a prominent member of the Honors community. He co-instructs Modes of Discourse with Jim Lyle and is a professor of the English Department. Serving as Honors Faculty since 1996, Ralph has made significant contributions to the growth of the Honors Program.

 Jim Lyle

Jim Lyle
College of Arts & Sciences (2009 – 2012)
Jim is the coach of the Speech and Debate team at Clarion University and co-instructs the Modes of Discourse class. He is on the Program Admissions Committee and promotes high quality honors education.


Rod Raehsler

Rod Raehsler, Ph.D.
College of Business (2010 – 2013)

Dr. Raehsler is a long time supporter of Honors education. He chairs the Economics department and has collaborated with Honors students in their capstone experiences.

Brent Register

Brent Register, DMA
Honors Program Associate Director (2011 – 2012)
Brent has served on Honors Council since 2002.  Currently he is the Assistant Director of the Honors Program.  Dr. Register is a professor of the Music Department and has instructed Honors 130 in the past. Brent is full of ideas and energy and we appreciate all that he does.

Hallie Savage 2

Hallie Savage
Honors Program Director (2011 – 2012)
Dr. Savage serves as Honors Program Director and instructs Honors 350.  Having an extensive history with the Program, Hallie believes "There is no ceiling on growth and creativity."  Dr. Savage is committed to the Honors Program and dedicated to its students. Her efforts are immensely appreciated.

Christina Sheets

Christina Sheets 
Athletics/Advising (2011 – 2012)
Christina's, or "Tilly's," professional expertise in athletics and wellness are invaluable to the Council's long-term planning, especially with respect to Honors student athletes. She is also Director of the University Advising Center.


Andrew Turner 
(2011 – 2014)


Class Representatives:
David Brooker (Freshman)
Maddy Robinson (Freshman)
David Aites (Sophmore)
Moyo Wills (Sophmore)
Marquis Lewis (Junior)
Steven Naugle (Junior)
Courtney Frederick (Senior)
Marian Mills (Senior)