Title IX

What is Title IX?

Title IX of the Education Amendments Act of 1972 prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in educational programs and activities at institutions that receive federal financial assistance.

Clarion University is committed to cultivating a learning, teaching and working environment that is free of discrimination on any basis, which includes discrimination on the basis of sex.  The University offers many resources for addressing complaints of sex discrimination.  Susanne Fenske, Ph.D., Vice President of Student Affairs for Clarion University, serves as the University's Title IX Coordinator.

Inquiries, concerns or complaints of faculty, staff and students regarding sex discrimination or sexual misconduct should be directed to Dr. Fenske's attention at sfenske@clarion.edu or by phone 814-393-2351. A complaint form is available online.

The Office of Social Equity works closely with the Offices of Public Safety (campus police) and the Judicial and Mediation Services in addressing complaints regarding sexual assault, and sexual violence.

The Title IX Team

Susanne Fenske, Ph.D.: Title IX Coordinator
Vice President of Student Affairs
103 Carrier
Phone: 814 393 2351
Email: sfenske@clarion.edu

Matthew Shaffer, Director of Judicial Affairs
207 Becht Hall
Phone: 814 393 1982
Email: mshaffer@clarion.edu

Emily Aubele, Director of Student Affairs - Venango
Office of Student Development
114 Rhodes, Venango
Phone: 814 393 1270
Email: eaubele@clarion.edu

Amy Salsgiver, Interim Director of Social Equity
Office of Social Equity
210 Carrier
Phone: 814 393 2109
Email: asalsgiver@clarion.edu

Jason Hendershot, University Chief of Police
Department of Public Safety
Thorn 1
Phone: 814 393 2111
Email: jhendershot@clarion.edu

Wendy Snodgrass, Associate Athletic Director
Intercollegiate Athletics
111 Tippin
Phone:  814 393 1989
wsnodgrass@clarion.edu  

Last Updated 11/22/16