Career Connections

Text Alert

Get Connected

Parameters for article:{}
PTK officers 2010-11

Pictured are officers for the 2010-2011 academic year and their advisor, left to right: Theresa Nestor, treasurer; Doreen Lawton, president; Beth Jackson, advisor; Michael Connolly, vice president; and Robin Zerres, secretary.

         The Alpha Kappa Delta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa held its 33nd Annual Induction Ceremony on Friday February 19, at the Quality Inn in Franklin. Guest speaker for the evening was Ashley Stroup-McCauley, office administrator for the Venango Area Chamber of Commerce and a Phi Theta Kappa alumna.  Ms. Stroup-McCauley earned an associate degree in speech communication from Edinboro University and an associate degree from Clarion University. She serves on the Clarion University Alumni Association, as chair of the events committee, and is an active member of the Venango Campus Alumni Chapter.

            Ms. Stroup-McCauley encouraged the students to follow their interests and take advantage of opportunities to explore new experiences. "I truly believe if you show up and work hard, the rest will follow. You can have many different focuses, but never say 'no' because you're turning down what could be a special part of your future. I think all of you should be commended for showing up tonight and not turning this opportunity down.  Phi Theta Kappa was an important, fun, worthwhile part of my life that I'm so glad I said 'yes' to."

            Dr. Chris Reber, executive dean at the Venango Campus, congratulated the students on their achievements. Donald Clark offered the invocation. Professor Beth Jackson has been the group's advisor for ten years. Music for the evening was presented by LaTrobe Barnitz, Venango Campus coordinator of admissions and financial aid.

            Inducted into the honor society were Amanda Bellotti, Landon Conn, Michael Connolly, David Ditzenberger, Debra Dunlap, Caitlin Elder, Erica Gardner, Amy Gerwig, Shannan Goheen, Kathryn Goodwin, Kimberly Harnett, Doreen Lawton, Theresa Nestor, Brian Phillips, Cylee Rhoades, John Stebick, Merry Wells, and Erik Zentgraf.

            Officers for the 2009-2010 academic year were Jody Ion, president; Lori Secor, vice president; Robin Zerres, secretary; and treasurer, Ester Estes, fall semester, and Terri Clark, spring semester.  

            The officers for the 2010-2011 academic year are Doreen Lawton, president; Michael Connolly, vice president; Robin Zerres, secretary; and Theresa Nestor, treasurer.

            The Alpha Kappa Delta chapter is active on both the Venango Campus and in the community.  It co-sponsors the Oil City Community Easter Egg Hunt, coordinates and hosts bi-annual blood drives, is active in the Adopt-a-Highway program, and the Totes-for-Tots program, which encourages reading for children in area Head Start programs. The chapter was recently awarded 5-star status, the highest level of achievement for a Phi Theta Kappa chapter.

            Established by Missouri two-year college presidents in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.  Today, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters located in all 50 of the United States, U.S. territories, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Germany, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, United Arab Emirates, and Palau.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

            Clarion University-Venango Campus, located in Oil City, is the oldest regional campus in Pennsylvania's State System of Higher Education.   The campus provides high-quality educational programs and personalized services to help students succeed.  Students can begin any of Clarion University's 90+ bachelor's degrees at the Venango Campus, earn an associate degree, a bachelor's or master's degree in select areas, obtain a one-year certificate or participate in a variety of professional development and personal enrichment courses.  The campus is home to Clarion University's School of Nursing and Allied Health and its Department of Applied Technology.  Clarion University-Venango Campus is committed to serving the needs of the community.

3/1/2010 12:30 PM

Clarion University–Venango Campus Honor Society Holds Induction