Get Help

Middle States Working Groups

In order to be reaccredited, PennWest Clarion has established Middle States Self-Study Working Groups. Each Working Group will work to meet a specific set of standards set forth by the Middle States Commission on Higher Education. Each Working Group's co-chairs are in bold.

 working group 1: Standard I. Mission and goals

PennWest Clarion’s mission defines its purpose within the context of higher education, the students it serves, and what it intends to accomplish. Clarion’s stated goals are clearly linked to its mission and specify how the institution fulfills its mission.

Dr. Suzie Boyden, professor Biology & Geosciences, Assistant Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Dr. David Hartley, interim associate provost
Dr. Adam Roberts, associate professor and chair of Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics
Dr. Chris McCarrick, professor, English and Modern Languages

working group 2: standard II. Ethics and integrity

Demonstrate how ethics and integrity are central, indispensable, and defining hallmarks of PennWest Clarion, and how in all activities, whether internal or external, PennWest Clarion is faithful to its mission, honors its contracts and commitments, adheres to its policies, and truthfully represents itself.

Dr. Jim Lyle, assistant professor, Communication
Josh Domitrovich, Center for Career and Professional Development
Bonita Bailey, success coach, Center for First-Year Experience
Tom Crissman, student support assistant, Center for Wellness
Katie Robinson, student
Amy Salsgiver, director of Social Equity
Shintrika Weibel, Upward Bound Program
Sarah Zerfoss, assistant director of Student Conduct & Community Development

Working group 3: Standard III. Design and delivery of the student learning experience

Demonstrate the extent to which PennWest Clarion provides students with learning experiences that are characterized by rigor and coherence at all program, certificate, and degree levels, regardless of instructional modality. How are all learning experiences, regardless of modality, program pace/schedule, level, and setting consistent with higher education expectations?

Dr. Jamie Phillips, assistant professor, Social Sciences
Dr. Gwen Price, dean, School of Education
Darla Ausel, instructional technology manager, Computing Services
Lynne Fleisher, assistant director, Extension Studies
Dr. Deb Kelly, assistant professor and chair, Nursing
Dr. Bell O'Neil, professor, Communication
Tonya Otto, instructor, libraries
Juanice Vega, interim assistant dean, College of Business Administration and Information Sciences

working group 4: standard IV. Support of the Student Experience

Across all educational experiences, settings, levels, and instructional modalities, the institution recruits and admits students whose interests, abilities, experiences, and goals are congruent with its mission and educational offerings. The institution commits to student retention, persistence, completion, and success through a coherent and effective support system sustained by qualified professionals, which enhances the quality of the learning environment, contributes to the educational experience, and fosters student success.

Dr. Joseph Croskey, faculty and director, University Advising Services
Matt Shaffer, director, Student Engagement and Development
Jarrett Boxley, admissions counselor
Meredith Karg, student support assistant, Center for Wellness
Dr. Mark Kilwein, professor, Rehabilitation Services
Dr. Paul Klenowski, associate professor, Criminal Justice
Rogers Laugand, director, Minority Student Services
Dr. Xiaofeng Li, assistant professor, Library Science
Kenneth Martin, director, Computing Services
Ron Radaker, director, Center for Access, Success and Achievement
Dr. Annette Rosati, assistant professor, English and Modern Languages
Todd Spaulding, assistant director for Residence Life Services
Jessica Wolbert, coordinator, New Student Programs

working group 5: standard V. Educational effectiveness Assessment

Assessment of student learning and achievement demonstrates that the institution's students have accomplished educational goals consistent with their program of study, degree level, the institution's mission, and appropriate expectations for institutions of higher education.

Laurie Pierce, chair, institutional and student learning assessment committee and Instructor, Nursing
Dr. Marcy McConnell, assistant professor, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics
Dr. Simon Aristeguieta, assistant professor, Library Science
Natalie Armstrong, instructor, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Bill Bailey, director of Career Development, Center for Career and Professional Development
Robin Bilan, assistant professor, Nursing
Dr. Jesse Haight, associate professor, education
MaryPat McCarthy, associate professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Dr. Kate Overmoyer, assistant professor, Chemistry, Mathematics & Physics

working group 6: standard VI. Planning resources and Institutional Improvement

The institution's planning processes, resources, and structures are aligned with each other and are sufficient to fulfill its mission and goals, to continuously assess and improve its programs and services, and to respond effectively to opportunities and challenges.

Tammy Varsek, associate vice president for Finance
Dr. Jon Beal, professor, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics
Tim Fogarty, associate vice president for Administration
Hope Lineman, dean for Career and Workforce Education at Venango
Taylor Mahan, student, Appropriations Committee of the Clarion Student Association
Donna Oberlander, university trustee, Pennsylvania State Representative (R-63)
Paula Perrotti, accounting
Dr. Dan Shifflet, professor, mathematics
Dr. Chad Smith, professor, Administrative Services
Dr. Dan Smith, professor, management and marketing
Max Smith, CEO, PennWest Clarion Foundation
Dr. Barry Sweet, professor, Political Science
Jan Troese, coordinator, Budget Planning

working group 7: standard VII. Governance, Leadership and Administration

Demonstrate the extent to which PennWest Clarion is governed and administered in a manner that allows it to realize its stated mission and goals in a way that effectively benefits the institution, its students, and the other constituencies it serves. Even when supported by or affiliated with governmental, corporate, religious, educational system, or other unaccredited organizations, the institution has education as its primary purpose, and it operates as an academic institution with appropriate autonomy.

Dr. Randy Potter, professor, Psychology
Dr. Terry Latour, dean, University Libraries
Cindy King, departmental clerical and AFSCME representative
Dani McCauley, Center for First-Year Experience and SCUPA representative
Dr. Joyce Overly, associate professor, Chemistry, Mathematics and Physics and APSCUF representative
Kenneth Staub, assistant professor, Communication Sciences and Disorders
Ryan Zavinski, Student Senator

working group 8: Compliance

Lisa Hepler, university Registrar
Sue Bloom, director, Student Financial Services
Kurtis Hargenrader, Student Accounts

Last Updated 8/22/22