Get Help

Student Senate

Senate Group Picture

Welcome to Student Senate!

Student Senate is a driving voice organization that consists of 22 elected Clarion University Student Senators. Their responsibility is to represent the entire student body. Student Senate is vested with all powers of the Clarion Students' Association (CSA) and they allocate the Student Activity Fee revenues with the approval of the President of Clarion University.

The Student Senate office is located in Gemmell 268. It is past the information desk and to the right of the seating areas. Student Senate meets Mondays at 7:30pm in 248 Gemmell. Upcoming meetings will be posted under the events section. These meetings are open to all students, faculty, and staff, so please, come to the meetings if you would like to voice any concern about the campus or are interested in Student Senate.

Additional information about Student Senate, including the current members, meeting minutes, committees and the current constitution for the organization can be found at CU Connect

Becoming A Senator

If you are interested in becoming a Senator, applications will be available on CUConnect at the beginning of the fall semester and during the end of the spring semester. Applications may be available throughout the academic year for special elections if a seat needs to be filled. The application consists of basic contact information, a picture of the applicant, and the applicant's platform. After the application deadline, elections occur by voting of the students of Clarion University via CU Connect. Elected students will be contacted by Student Senate at the conclusion of the elections. 

Contact Information

Student Senate
268 Gemmell Student Complex
senate@clarion.edu

Appropriations Committee
ssac@clarion.edu 

Rules & Regulations Committee
ssrrc@clarion.edu

EXECUTIVE BOARD

Ryan Zavinski 
President
r.a.zavinski@eagle.clarion.edu

Sydney Spang
Vice President
s.j.spang@eagle.clarion.edu

Emma Kilgore
VP Rules & Regulations
E.L.Kilgore@eagle.clarion.edu

Samuel Shannon
Treasurer
s.j.shannon@eagle.clarion.edu

Abby Barrett
Secretary 
a.barrett1@eagle.clarion.edu

ADVISORS

Matthew G. Shaffer
Director of Student Engagement & Development
814-393-1982
mshaffer@clarion.edu

Jim McGee
Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs, Wellness
814-393-1949
jmcgee@clarion.edu

Sandra Machokas
CSA Executive Director
814-393-2211
smachokas@clarion.edu

Kathryn Robinson
Clarion University Student Trustee
K.J.Robinson@eagle.clarion.edu

Last Updated 2/22/22