Get Help

Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration

purpose

The Martin Luther King Jr. Committee maintains that the breadth of Dr. King's heritage as an American leader is a mainly untapped resource. Some areas of Dr. King's active involvement to further social justice include all levels of schooling, human violence, intolerance, gender issues, and the structure of job opportunities. Programs in these and other domains developed through various academic disciplines seem appropriate for the committee to cooperatively develop this year.

upcoming mLK Events

Black LivesMartin Luther King Celebration 2020-21

Nov. 11, 2020
7 p.m., Zoom Webinar
Speakers: Nyle Fort, Selwyn Jones, Angela Harrelson

Black Lives and The Legacy of George Floyd: A Conversation
This exclusive and intimate conversation explores the shock waves of George Floyd's death, the Movement for Black Lives, the crisis of policing in America, the meaning of justice, and more. Skillfully moderated by activist, minister and scholar, Nyle Fort, this 60-minute webinar event-with ample time for Q&A -- promises to be powerful, valuable, and unforgettable. Joining Nyle are members of George Floyd's family, including his Uncle, Selwyn Jones and Aunt, Angela Harrelson.


MLK Committee

Co-chairs:

Mr. Rogers J. Laugand III, laugand@clarion.edu
Dr. Phil Terman, pterman@clarion.edu

Committee Members:

Dr. Peggy Apple - papple@clarion.edu

Mr. Joseph Croskey - jcroskey@clarion.edu

Mr. Mark Franchino - mfranchino@clarion.edu

Dr. Mark Lepore - mlepore@clarion.edu

Dr. Candice Matthew - cmatthews@clarion.edu

Ms. Kelly Ryan - kryan@clarion.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Last Updated 10/27/20